Everything you need to know about DPS Charter Renewals. 

The DPS Family of Schools 

The DPS Board of Education will vote on the renewals of  15 schools on January 13, 2022 at the DPS Board Meeting and is accepting public comment on January 11, 2022. If you are a family whose student attends one of these schools and you want to get more involved, you can email us and we can support through board outreach.  

You can sign up for public comment here. 

 

 

Sign-up for Special Public Comment opens at 10:00 am on Wednesday, January 5, 2022 and closes at 5:00 pm on Monday, January 10, 2022.  Public comment regarding all school renewals will happen on January 11 at 4:30PM via zoom. 

What is a Charter Renewal?
Charters are public schools that sign contracts to partner with districts. Each contract outlines exactly what each school is responsible for and what promises they make to students and families, as well as what outcomes they are accountable for to the district. Every charter school operating in Denver has a contract with Denver Public Schools. Every school is responsible for meeting the terms and agreements outlined in the contract and is evaluated for renewal on a semi-annual basis. This year, 15 schools have charter renewal contracts with Denver Public Schools. 

The DPS staff has recommended multi-year renewals for all high-performing charters who were evaluated. 

The next step in this process is for the DPS Board of Education to either approve the staff recommendations based on months of observations or to deny them.

Email the Board of Education today and tell them to renew your school! 

Board members need to hear from families whose students attend these schools! Email them using the email addresses below! 

 

Here is how to contact board members. 


District 1 (Southeast Denver):  Scott Baldermann at Scott_Baldermann@dpsk12.org

District 2 (Southwest Denver): Xóchitl Gaytán at Xochitl_Gaytan@dpsk12.org
District 3 (Central/Southeast Denver): Dr. Carrie Olson at Carrie_Olson@dpsk12.org

District 4 (Northeast Denver): Michelle Quattlebaum at Michelle_Quattlebaum@dpsk12.org

District 5 (Northwest Denver): Brad Laurvick at Brad_Laurvick@dpsk12.org

At Large (Citywide): Tay Anderson at Tay_Anderson@dpsk12.org

At Large (Citywide): Scott Esserman at Scott_Esserman@dpsk12.org

TEN- District Leaders 2022.jpg